hh logo
Skip Links
Text Size
Text Bigger
Text Smaller
Last Updated
Thursday, May 09, 2019

Conservation Advisory Panel

The Hunters Hill Advisory Committee was established in 1972 to advise the Council on “townscape” matters and was reconstituted in 1989 as the Conservation Advisory Panel [CAP] under the Hunters Hill Local Environmental Plan.

The Panel provides advice to the Group Manager, Development & Regulatory Control to assist in the consideration of heritage conservation matters. It meets monthly on the evening of the third Wednesday of each month. An important role of the panel is also to provide heritage conservation advice to property owners, applicants and architects contemplating development. The main matters considered by CAP include:

  • Demolition of a heritage Item;
  • Demolition of a dwelling within a conservation areas;
  • Major additions to heritage items;
  • New fencing, garages and carports to the streetscape
  • Including any other important items staff require CAP to review

Development applications and other matters are referred to the Panel at the discretion of the Group Manager, Development & Regulatory Control, and the Panel considers the non-planning aspects of proposed development relating to heritage items and conservation areas. Consultation with the Panel in regard to preliminary proposals is also encouraged prior to a development application [DA] being lodged.

Constitution Of The Panel

The Panel consists of the following members:

Two Councillors for two (2) years appointed bi annually by Council.
1. Clr Ross Williams
2. Clr Jim Sanderson

Community Representatives
1. Mr Tony Coote, Representative of Hunters Hill Trust
2. Mr Brian McDonald, Representative Heritage Consultant
3. Mr Michael Lehany, Representative Cultural Landscape Practitioner
5. Ms Bronwyn Doutreband, Community Representative
6. Ms Helen Temple-Berry, Community Representative
7. Mr Graham Atkins, Community Representative Alternate

Council Officers
1. Mr Greg Patch, Heritage Consultant
2. Mr Steve Kourepis, Director, Development & Regulatory Services

Powered by